The New Year Has Arrived; Time To Set Some Goals!

Happy New Year everyone, and welcome to the year 2013! It is time for new beginnings and new goals, and new goals are exactly what I plan to make.

Each year I set myself a few birding goals.

In 2011 I made it my goal to see four new life birds: Gray-crowned Rosy Finch, Short-eared Owl, Ptarmigan (any species, because I had not seen any of them), and Hudsonian Godwit. With lots of luck and some help from my mentors I saw all four of my chosen species, the ptarmigan species being Willow.

In 2012 my goals were to see Sora, Whimbrel, Red Knot (three life birds), and every common and uncommon owl species that showed up in the Yukon. I saw a Sora only meters away from me during my time spent volunteering at the Albert Creek Bird Observatory in May, and had gorgeous views of Whimbrel with Jukka Jantunen in the spring. I did not see the Red Knot, but that is not unexpected. Red Knot is a very rare shorebird in the Yukon; there have been none seen for many years. With the help of Jukka Jantunen and Cameron Eckert, and some luck, I saw every owl species that was reported in the Yukon except for a Long-eared Owl seen by Jukka Jantunen at the Watson Lake Airport in May, a possible (unconfirmed) Northern Pygmy Owl that hit a window in Carcross in November, along with the most easily seen and perhaps most common owl in the Yukon… the Northern Hawk Owl.

For 2013, my bird goals are:

to see Rock and/or White-tailed Ptarmigan, Eurasion-collared Dove, and Townsend’s Warbler, which are all lifer birds that have evaded me for the past two years I have searched for them,

to get a really good photo of Rock Pigeons,

and to see 95 or more species of birds on the Yukon Birdathon during the last weekend of May.

This year will be very crazy for me as I will be graduating from high school in the spring, attending college full-time in the fall, working through the summer, and hopefully attending the 2013 Antarctica Expedition with Students on Ice in the winter. If I am accepted to go on the expedition, I will also be fundraising through the summer. I may not see all of the species I listed for 2013, but they are species that are likely and can be easy to find. My blog this year will not be publishing very many posts. It will probably be like this past winter, with only one or two posts being published a month. However, I will write whenever I have some free time and keep you updated on my birding adventures through the year.

Thank you to everyone reading and following my blog! All the best to you in the New Year! :)

It's the New Year; Take a Plunge and Create some Goals!

It’s the New Year; Take a Plunge and Create some Goals!

One response to “The New Year Has Arrived; Time To Set Some Goals!

Leave a Reply

