Do You See What I See??

Yesterday when we went into Whitehorse for my provincial exam, it was -35C with a biting north wind to top it off. It was really chilly, so I travelled at a brisk trot and kept my head turned down during my bitter journey from the bank to the car, just across the sidewalk. When I jumped into the cozy warm backseat, I was thankful that Mom did not drive away instantly because it was when I looked up and out my window that I saw it. I knew I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to document my special sighting, so I jumped back out into the cold with my camera in hand. It stared at me with unblinking eyes from its position on the tree trunk. Please observe my photos below.

Do You See What I See?

Do You See What I See?

I See Half a Boreal Owl Face Growing Out of the Tree Trunk!

I See Half a Boreal Owl Face Growing Out of the Tree Trunk!

I looked out of my window and saw half of a Boreal Owl face in the tree trunk, looking as though it was half hidden behind the wire. There was a dark line going down from the inner corner of the eye to the upper corner of the pale beak. The characteristic Boreal Owl eye mark took straight up from the top center of the eye. A gently curving horizontal line below the beak formed the shape of the head. You can compare it to the photo of a Boreal Owl below. It this a coincidence? When I examined it, the markings looked pretty natural to me. I had to share this because it was one of the most interesting natural pictures I have ever found. I hope you find it as fascinating as I do! 🙂

Boreal Owl. Photo by Cameron Eckert.

Boreal Owl. Photo by Cameron Eckert.

Leave a Reply

