Beakingoff’s 4th Anniversary!

Beakingoff's 'Eye'con Owner, a Sharp-shinned Hawk.

The Beakingoff Mascot – a Sharp-shinned Hawk

Today is Beakingoff’s 4th Anniversary! Hard to believe I’ve been running this blog for only 4 years – the day I was tossing around names for a blog with my parents seems like a lifetime ago. So much has happened since then. Beakingoff has been a perfect outlet for my creative writing skills, story sharing and research, and it has gained a lot of support through readership. Thank you to all of my readers for following Beakingoff over these past 4 years – it means a lot to have your support of my work.

It looks like I’ll have a lot to write about on Beakingoff over the coming summer as I’ve been hired to work with Yukon biologist David Mossop as a biodiversity research field assistant – my dream job of 3 years! His work will take us all over the Yukon, from around southern lakes, to the Porcupine River, to Old Crow, Inuvik, the North Slope, and even Herschel Island. I’ll be helping with waterfowl, breeding bird, ptarmigan, and Peregrin Falcon surveys, owl and kestrel banding, Black Guillimot monitoring (Herschel Island), and much more. This summer hold the promise of several new birds as well, including Black Guillimot, Long-tailed Jaeger, Common Eider, and maybe even Yellow Wagtail. I can’t wait to share the adventures I know are in store with my readers 🙂 Please stay tuned, and enjoy spring migration!

Me With a Few Flock Members

Beakingoff Author with White-tailed Ptarmigan

 

 

3 responses to “Beakingoff’s 4th Anniversary!

  1. You will have such an interesting summer, and we will get to enjoy it through your blog. Congratulations on 4 years.

  2. Congratulation for the four years of your interesting blog.
    And this dreaming job is coming soon.
    I’m exciting to follow you !
    Sylvia

  3. Congratulations on your anniversary, Shyloh! I can’t wait to read your upcoming posts — I know you’re going to have a fantastic time. Good luck on getting those lifers!

Leave a Reply

