Yukon, North of Ordinary

Yukon, North of Ordinary is a popular Yukon-made and published magazine that was started in February 2007 when Air North agreed to give Yukon, North of Ordinary a place on the back of their airplane seats. Due to this partnership and promise of distribution, the magazine has been able to increase their advertising allowing it to become what it is today. It is internationally read and is produced quarterly through the year. The cool thing about Yukon, North of Ordinary is that it is the only magazine in the Yukon Territory that is truly a ‘Yukon-made’ magazine, being written/edited (by Yukon authors), published, and produced in the Yukon.

Yukon, North of Ordinary has generously given me their support towards my expedition to Antarctica. Along with a sponsorship, they have donated a specially made Yukon, North of Ordinary women’s jacket for the silent auction fundraiser that I am organizing here in Tagish (more details on date, place, and time to come soon!), and have arranged a deal in which they donate the proceeds of the funds that people pay when subscribing to their magazine to me. This deal counts with every subscription that I personally sell to people, and every time a person subscribing online enters my name (Shyloh) into the subscription comments box. I will be writing bird-related posts for them online and selling subscriptions in return for their support. Yukon, North of Ordinary is also offering free logo advertising  for local companies who sponsor me in a half-page ad being featured in their June magazine edition.

Please check out the Yukon, North of Ordinary website and Facebook page. If you like them, it is more than worth it to subscribe. Not only do you get their popular quarterly published magazine filled with Yukon stories, advice, and photos, but if you enter my name into the subscription box or buy a subscription card from me personally, you will be helping me to achieve my goal to reach Antarctica.

Don’t forget, if you would like to sponsor me you can do it by cheque or online. Please see my previous post for more information on payment methods.

Thank you very much to everyone who has given me sponsorships and/or donations so far! 🙂

008 (2)

One response to “Yukon, North of Ordinary

  1. Pingback: Antarctic Fundraising Update | beakingoff·

Leave a comment